Labour MPs elected in the three Ealing three constituencies early this morning reflected on the election as they gave their acceptance speeches, having helped pave the way to the party’s landslide majority.

MP for Ealing Central and Acton Rupa Huq won her constituency seat with 22,340 votes, having held the seat since 2015.

The sister of former Blue Peter presenter Konnie Huq, Rupa gave an exuberant speech to cheers and applause at Perceval House, headquarters of Ealing Council.

She said: “What a night, we voted for a fresh start, for a changed Labour party.

“After 14 crippling years of austerity, we will rebuild this country after the state it has been left in.

“I will represent all constituencies whether they voted for me or not.”

The Labour winner for Ealing Southall and deputy leader of Ealing Council, Deirdre Costigan, declared herself an MP for all.

Costigan, who replaced Virendra Sharma who stepped down as Labour MP earlier this year, secured 23,000 votes.

She said: “I will support you, no matter what your race or religion, or whether you voted for me or not.

“We’re seeing change happen before our very eyes, in places that we never thought would be Labour.

“These places are turning red tonight.

“This is the greatest job I will ever have, and I cannot wait to get stuck in.”

Former Labour MP from 1997 to 2019 Stephen Pound said: “It is very important that Members of Parliament actually reflect the views of their constituents, but above all that they also understand what they owe their constituency, which is why we take it very seriously.”

The final Ealing seat was won by James Murray, with a comfortable majority of more than 12,000, securing more than 20,000 votes.

With a clean sweep in Ealing and more than 400 seats nationally, it was certainly a good night for Labour.