SCHOOLS in Ealing are celebrating after featuring in the inaugural London Teacher of the Year Awards at the Royal Aeronautical Society on Friday.

Kerry Shilling, of Selborne Primary School, Perivale, won the head teacher or assistant head of the year award for London as a whole.

She said: “I work with an inspirational team who make a difference to children’s lives every single day.”

Pholoso Masenya, of Christ the Saviour C of E Primary School, The Grove, Ealing, who won the Ealing and Hillingdon raising aspiration award.

The awards were organised by the charity, Inspire Schools. Its chief executive, Simon Dolby, said: “These teachers and support staff really do amazing work expanding the horizons and opportunities of young people across the capital.”

Guests included best-selling children’s author Dan Freedman and Stephen Metcalfe MP, of the Commons Science and Technology Select Committee.